The first map


This is the first map ever done of the Etrakien world, it depicts the northern area called Nordhem. In very early sketches the area was called Nordheim, and the name has actually changed back and forth a couple of times. In some versions of the map I even decided to remove the area completely, but in my final map it’s actually back, but now as Nordheim.

The map is drawn by hand and then scanned and edited in Photoshop. The only things added in Photoshop are the labelling. The map is done nearly ten years ago and much has happened since then when it comes to my drawing technique. Nowadays I seldom draw on paper, as I did by then, now I do the whole process in Photoshop with my Wacom pen. It makes the whole process much easier and quicker. And you don’t need to use the scanner (that is tucked away in a corner of my workroom) which is good.

This particular map was originally done as a players map for a roleplaying session. By then I still had some ideas of putting my old gaming group together for a weekend. That never happened and I soon gave up on the idea of trying to make a roleplaying campaign out of it. However I didn’t give up on the world, which has continued to grow since then. But now it’s mainly there for one reason, to give me inspiration when I map.

Leave a Reply

