Old school dungeon


There is something special with simple maps. Making a simple map can be much harder than making a complicated one. I love making maps that show a lot of details, where you can see the furniture in the rooms, what’s on the tables, blood on the floor etc. But sometimes you just want to do something old school, something simple and elegant.

Making it simple means that you have to leave a lot of the details out, you can’t hide behind a lot of good looking graphics. At the same time a simple map can be just as good looking as a complicated one. You let the user populate the map in his mind instead of feeding him all the details.

This particular old school map is from an old adventure I once started on but that I never finished. The adventurers had to find the lost grave of a necromancer and retrieve an artifact for their employer. Everything else in the grave they could keep to themselves. To find the location of the grave they had to travel to different islands for clues.

A quite standard old school scenario that needed some old school maps.

2 thoughts on “Old school dungeon

  1. I very much like your approach to making a map. Especially your dungeons which I have seen so far have a very elegant, no nonsense appeal. This is one of my major problems whenever I design a dungeon for Neverwinter Nights: It tends to be too complex, too many rooms, too many passageways. No mad necromancer would ever have it built like that..!
    So I am sure I will follow your blog for inspiration to develop a better mapping style myself. 🙂

    • Hello Uranochus and thanks for your very nice words. When I make my maps I always try to find some inspiration from the real world. For example I look at the egyptian tombs. I also try to make them as realistic as possible, which tends to result in quite simple maps.

Leave a Reply

