Making a fairy tale book


Farjvad the tale

When I show my city/town maps to people I often get the comment that the style make them look like something from a fairy tale book. With this in mind I thought it would be fun to play around a bit with my latest map, and put it in a book. The question was just how should I do it?

Some time ago I backed a project called the Lamp Post Guild over at kickstarter. As a thank you for doing this I received some really nice goodies the other week, brushes for Photoshop, nice wallpapers and some really good textures. One of these textures was of a old looking book page. So I thought I could use that for my little project.

The first thing I had to do was to make the single page into a double page, which was quite easy in Photoshop. I also removed some of the stains from the copy and added some new. It would look strange if both sides were identical. After that I just added the map and removed a small part of the border to make it look like the map was painted on the page.

Next problem was to decide what to write on the remaining pages. One of the best campaign/adventures I’ve ever played for a RPG, be it English or Swedish, is the one named “Konfluxsviten” by Erik Granström. When he published the campaign rules for his island world Trakorien he did it as a story of a monk travelling around the islands.

So I thought I do the same here. Why not describe the town through the eyes of a traveller that is passing by. I thought of this traveller as if he came from the more densely populated coastline of Armadien and now he was documenting his trip through the large forest that the Vadsbro province consists of. In this way I could get a more fun way of presenting the town, and it would feel more like something you actually would find in a book.

2 thoughts on “Making a fairy tale book

  1. Diablo 3 lore was written much in the same way. You get a researcher talking about various regions and monsters as you encounter them and “find his notes”. They did something similar as well with the way the wrote the Book of Cain, quite an awesome piece of art and lore. I agree that anything that even comes close to this level of engagement would make an amazing campaign basis.

    • Hello David and thanks for your comment. I can just agree with you that it gives a great basis for a campaign adding info via an imagined character in the world that the players explore. So hopefully my work will pay off in the end, even though I clearly doubt it will be of the quality of the games you mentioned 🙂

Leave a Reply

