Going to Never land


Neverland

One of the most important things to remember when you make maps is that it should be fun. If you don’t have fun, well you won’t continue doing it. One of things I like the most is to make maps for my kids. It doesn’t matter if it is for a RPG session or for an imaginary world they want to play in. If they ask for a map I always try to make one for them.

This spring my oldest daughter turned six and she wanted to invite all her friends for a pirate party. At the moment Jake and the Never land pirates are her favorite show on TV, and of course if you have a pirate party you have to have a treasure hunt.

My kids loves to have treasure hunts and I have made maps of our house that I use when we go treasure hunting. Sometimes I include a riddle to make it a bit harder for them to find the treasure. Because the truth is that they nowadays are so good at reading the maps of our house that they find the treasures in no time. So I have to make it a bit harder for them.

But this time I decided to make something completely different that I hadn’t done before. Jake and his pirates are living in never land, but it is quite hard to get there for a party, so I decided to make a map where I turned our house into Never land. To do this I used Profantasy’s Dungeon Designer 3 program and the Jon Roberts Dungeon style from the 2011 annual (It is free to download by the way). I really like that style and it is very easy to use.

Do I need to say that the map was a real success. The kids loved it and they really played it out well, as if they were in Never land. The treasure was easily found after some exciting adventures and everyone enjoyed the booty, golden coins with chocolate inside. What more can you ask for if your six years old 🙂

6 thoughts on “Going to Never land

  1. Very nice map ! For those who remember the one of your house in the “Treasure hunting” post, it is clearier. Maybe you could put it here again ? Or a small link ?
    By the way, nice blog. I think we all understand why your children are so happy about these adventures !

  2. Hi there,

    I’m interested in buying some ProFantasy software (the four I had in mind were Campaign Cartographer 3, Dungeon Designer 3, City Designer 3, and Cosmographer 3). The questions I wanted to ask you were whether it is worth getting all 4 programs, as I am a writer of both fantasy and science-fiction, and would like to have well-made maps to stand beside my novels, and whether as a writer these would be of any use to me. I have the money to buy them, but obviously if I don’t like them it’ money down the drain. Any advice/ information would be particularly helpful.

    Thanks, and your maps are great,

    Thomas

    • Hello,
      I own all of the mentioned programs myself and they are all good value for your money. They might be a bit tricky to learn in the beginning.
      CC3 is a must to buy, the other ones wont work without it. CD 3 is good if you want to make maps of cities, can be handy if you need a city in your book. DD3 is mainly for dungeons and house interiors, so I don’t know if I go with that one for a start, if you don’t absolutely need it. I’d probably go for one of the annuals instead that is where you have the really good looking overland styles.
      If you want to make SF maps, well then Cosmographer 3 is a must. It includes all the SF stuff. The other programs are mainly for Fantasy.
      I hope this was to some help for you.

Leave a Reply

