2014


symbolIt is a new year so what can be better than having a look at what happened last year and what might be in store for 2014.

Last year was a very good year for me and my mapping hobby. In May I decided to start up a small one man mapping company since I started to get more and more requests for maps. And I must admit that the progress of my mapping company in many ways have exceeded my expectations.

Still this is a side business for me, something I do in my spare time outside ordinary working hours, and it would be hard to make a living from it alone. But I love making maps and I’m very glad that I actually can get paid for something that I love to do.

The maps I’ve made have been everything from maps that are used for gaming nights to maps for books. It has been a real pleasure to make those maps and a lot of the commissions I’ve done have been a great challenge as well, especially those for Profantasy.

Both the styles I made for them last year has been in black and white, no shading just black and white. Particularly the dungeon style I made for them was very challenging due to that I hadn’t done anything like that before. To complete it I had a great deal of help from the Wacom Cintiq I bought last year. The Cintiq has really made it possible for me take another step in developing my skills as a map maker.

So what will happen this year? First of all I hope I will continue to have the opportunity to help people out with the maps they need. Making commissions are great fun and trying to put others ideas to (digital) paper are always both challenging and fun.

Apart from that I also have two projects that I hope to be able to conclude this year. One is a product for the Swedish RPG market that I will do together with the Swedish game studio Skepnad and the Swedish fantasy writer Erik Granström. At the moment I cannot reveal any more details about the project, but I hope to be able to get this idea to print some time during this year.

The second project is a kickstarter that I will be part of during this autumn, if everything goes as planned. What and when it is I will get back to when all details are in place and I know a date for it to happen. But I can tell you that it includes maps.

So hopefully last year has been great for you too, and hopefully this year will be even better.

Leave a Reply

